1996

I remember this year and it returned to focus as it dawned on me that I went through what my child can now see. The curiosity of what it would be like to date.. I was in eighth grade comparing myself to girls my age. I remembered that Valentine’s dance where I told myself go home because the way all the other girls were dressed, I didn’t have a chance. See its time to use that memory now and somehow make it a bridge to my child’s feelings without getting involved in her dealings with her Peers. She’s upset she was rejected and that pain used to shape and mold my perception.

Leave a Reply

